In the Quiet   3 comments


Lord Howe Island snorkeling - Double headed wr...

Image by Percita via Flickr

We live in a world that is filled with sounds.  No matter where we are, something is making a sound.  It might be animals, or vehicles, or the ticking of a clock, or the hum of the fan on a computer, or the furnace blower, or ……  The only way that we can escape sound is by wearing headphones that block out all sounds; even then we still hear our own breathing and beating of our heart.  Sound is part of the world.

Because we are constantly bombarded with sounds, we become accustomed to ignoring many of them.  In fact, we have to make an effort to truly stop and focus to hear specific sounds.  Since I live a very busy life like many of you, I do not always take the time to sit and listen.  I actually feel a bit of guilt when I choose to make myself do so.  I always know that there is something waiting for me to do.  But as I have thought this morning about being able to know what the Lord desires, I realized that the very first step is to focus on listening in the quiet (or at least as quiet as I can get).

I am reminded of this in two specific passages from the Bible:

He says, “Be still, and know that I am God;
I will be exalted among the nations,
I will be exalted in the earth.”
(Psalm 46:10)

The LORD said, “Go out and stand on the mountain in the presence of the LORD, for the LORD is about to pass by.”

Then a great and powerful wind tore the mountains apart and shattered the rocks before the LORD, but the LORD was not in the wind. After the wind there was an earthquake, but the LORD was not in the earthquake. After the earthquake came a fire, but the LORD was not in the fire. And after the fire came a gentle whisper. (1 Kings 19:11-12)

I am reminded in these words from the Bible that I need to quiet myself and quiet as much around me as possible at times so that I can hear the gentle whisper of the Lord. 

So it is good to be in the quiet.

 

 

 

3 responses to “In the Quiet

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Not being fascious here, but as I have jokingly said before… Loss of hearing is not all bad. I think God has used this to help me learn to truly listen to Him.

    Kinser Connie & Jim
  2. You know that is one of my favorite verses. :)

    Laura Silverthorn
  3. I use yoga once a week to quiet my thoughts and concentrate on nothing but me. Otherwise my mind will race from one fire to the next and miss the whispers.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 891 other followers

