The Joy of a Dog   4 comments


My dog

I have always been a dog person in my life.  When I was growing up, we did have a few cats around the house because my sister liked cats but I have always had a preference for dogs.  The one thing that I greatly enjoy about a dog is that they are always so eager to see you when you walk in the door.  I don’t care if you have been gone ten minutes or a week, whenever you return they are excited and want to be right next to you.

The other thing that I greatly enjoy about a dog is that they love you in whatever mood you are in at the time.  Even if you are scolding them for bad behavior, they still love you.  If you have had a good day at work, they are eager to be with you and to show you affection.  If you have had a bad day at work, they are eager to be with you and to show you affection.  If you feel like crying, they are there to comfort you.  If you feel like playing, they are very eager to join with you.  If you are in the mood to take a walk, the dog is ready to go for a walk as well.  If you just want to lay on the couch, they are right there with you.

I wonder what it would be like if I had more of an attitude like a dog?  Would I behave differently when someone returned?  Would I be able to love no matter what mood the other person was exhibiting?  Would I be as eager for the companionship that I didn’t care what activity I was engaging in with the other person?

Thank you Lord for dogs.  Thank you for the lessons they may teach me.  Thank you for the companion and love they give me unconditionally.

Posted May 31, 2012 by thoughtfulbeliever in Experiences, Life

Tagged with , ,

4 responses to “The Joy of a Dog

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Milt really liked this post.

  2. Jim,
    Great picture of Herky! I enjoyed reading your blog.

    Laura Silverthorn
  3. wow ilove dog thank you post

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 892 other followers

