The Value of Community   6 comments


English: I took photo with Canon camera in Lub...

(Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Today is a day of challenge for me.  My son will undergo a surgery that will lead to a period of great pain.  I do not think it is ever easy for a parent to watch one of his/her children as they deal with pain.  I know that in the long run this will benefit him greatly but I am still uneasy, concerned, and not eager for what lies ahead.  Yet, as always, God takes a difficult situation and produces great good from it.

Yesterday, when we found out what time my son’s surgery is going to be today, I posted a message on Facebook and requested prayers.  Since that point, I have received endless messages and promises of prayers.  My son commented on how terrific it is that I have so many friends and family who are offering their support.  I couldn’t agree more.  Some of these individuals are from the community in which we live; others are from hundreds of miles away.  However, it is one large community of support and encouragement.  The Lord has blessed me and my family greatly with wonderful people.

So as we go through this day, I know that I am surrounded by a great company of saints.  I know that I have the strong support of prayers and willingness to reach out in any way possible.  I know that my son and my family walk this path not alone but with friends, family, and most importantly, my Lord.  I am reminded of these important words:

“And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose.”  (Romans 8:28, NIV)

I trust the Lord and the power of prayer from a community of friends and family.

6 responses to “The Value of Community

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Count me in. Hope all goes well – it is so hard to see our kids go through tough times – sounds like you are doing everything you can.

  2. You are my family, and I will be there with you! I believe God placed us together because what are the odds that this rare condition our sons have would occur in a community the size of Winterset, let alone in a congregation of the same church. There is a purpose for everything! God is good all the time!

    Laura Silverthorn
  3. May you and yours find peace in the center of the storm.

  4. One of my most difficult experiences of being a parent was the first time one of my kids had the pain that I could not Kiss and Make Well! Thank God that he was there to do it for me…. Prayers and Hugs to all of you..

    Kinser Connie & Jim
  5. From my perspective I see that God has used you in a great way to build this community of believers. Thank you for being faithful. We, by the way, continue to pray for your son.

  6. Pingback: Back On Track « thoughtfulbeliever

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 874 other followers

