Back On Track   Leave a comment


 

gratitude

gratitude (Photo credit: nathalie booth)

After a long hiatus, I am finally back in the saddle of every day life.  I would not say that I am back to normal (partly because I am not sure I have ever achieved “normal”) because I am still assisting in providing care for my son who finally got out of the hospital Sunday afternoon.  Nights are still fragmented by the need to provide pain medication every three hours.  However, I am back in the office for the first full day since July 10.  Because I am trying to re-establish my regular routine, writing my blog post is part of that.

Today, I just want to reflect a bit over the days since July 10.  These days have been filled with many ups and many more downs.  For a person who likes to manage as much in life as possible, encountering long periods when aspects of life are completely out of my control  have caused a lot of emotional and spiritual fatigue.  Watching your child suffer and knowing that there was little that you could do was extremely frustrating to me.  While I hope that my words of comfort and my attempts to provide calm in very difficult situations had some value, I knew that I could not take the pain away, nor could I wish quick healing into existence.  I struggled at times to keep an eye on the end goal but knew that I had to constantly remind him of that goal.

I am forever grateful for the many words of encouragement and the endless barrage of prayer that have been sent our way.  The ability for me to keep individuals updated via Facebook was a blessing because I was also able to regularly see the words that others would post on each update.  It reminded me that there were so many people who cared and who were offering support from so many different places.  As I mentioned before we ever went to the hospital, having a community of support is vital and rewarding in these situations.

So as I attempt to continue to be constantly available to my son while returning to the office and trying to fulfill my responsibilities, I want to say thank you.  Thank you to those who have been a constant strength to me and my family.  Thank you to those who have offered prayers and encouragement.  Thank you to those who have offered to provide whatever relief is possible.  Thank you most of all to the Lord who has walked this path with us from the beginning and who continues to provide healing for my son.

 

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 874 other followers

