Archive for July 27, 2012

Patience   5 comments


Calm water

Calm water (Photo credit: palestrina55)

Alright, it is confession time once again.  I must confess that I struggle with the concept of being patient.  I can justify this struggle so many different ways but the truth is that I am not a very patient person.  I see things that I want to accomplish and I go full steam to try to make it happen.  I see situations that I want corrected or changed and I exert much energy to make  those corrections or changes a reality.  I struggle when caught in long lines.  I hate been slowed in traffic.  I detest being part of mob because the group does not move at the pace I would like to move.  I could continue but I think that you have a sense of this struggle which rages inside of me all too often.  While I would like to say that I have made improvements in this area, I am not too naive to state that I have a very long ways to go in this battle.

Over the last few weeks, I have been forced to work on patience.  I have had to remain patient with my son as I saw him struggle with pain and set backs.  I have had to remain patient as the healing process has taken its course.  I have had to remain patient as hour upon hour there has been little to no rest.  I have had to remain patient as I have waited upon medical staff and sat in waiting rooms.  These have been lessons for me and given me the opportunity to make headway in my struggle with patience.

I never include a request for the Lord to give me patience when I engage in my daily prayers.  My fear is that if I make such a request, the Lord will be more than willing to allow opportunities for me to practice this discipline.  However, even though I do not request such assistance, the Lord, who is extremely benevolent and knows what I need even though I do not utter the words, often gives me lesson opportunities.

Today, as I reflected on the pace of my son’s recovery, these words came into my mind:

“He says, “Be still, and know that I am God; I will be exalted among the nations, I will be exalted in the earth.”
(Psalm 46:10, NIV)

This reminder to “Be still” for me is the key to my need for patience during this time.  I need to rest in the arms of my Lord right now.  I need to remember that God is God and I am not.  I cannot “fix” my son.  I cannot take away his pain.  I cannot speed up his healing process.  I need to remember that God is in charge.  I need to take the opportunity to be still in the Lord and to have confidence that the Lord is at work even when I cannot see it concretely.  I need to have patience.

 

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 891 other followers