Return To Routines   1 comment


Acro dance partners execute a Lawnmower, one o...

Acro dance partners execute a Lawnmower, one of many types of partnering tricks found in acro dance routines. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I know that the calendar says that it is not fall until next month but I am declare it fall on my calendar today.  It has been a crazy summer with me traveling or being away from home most of the summer.  Because of the hectic schedule that I have had, most of my routines have gone out the window.  However, it is time to settle back into the positive routines of my life once again.  School is back in session, travel has discontinued, and the State Fair is over.  So I officially declare today as the first day of my fall routine.

Routines can be positive or negative.  Some routines are negative because they cause us to just walk through our days in a robotic way.    We become pretty passive and complacent and move from one item on our task list to the other.  These types of routines seem to numb us to the world around us and zap the energy out of our lives.  I hope that one of the positive aspects of a hectic, atypical summer is that I am able to break free of the negative routines that I had so easily settled into.

Some routines are positive.  They give us structure to our lives.  They provide opportunities for us to have a touchstone to center ourselves.  Positive routines can generate energy in our lives.  A type of positive routine is exercising most days in a week.  I returned this morning to my normal exercise routine and know that by the end of the week it will have a positive impact on my life.

The key is to remember that even positive routines can have negative effects if we don’t remember a couple of important guidelines:

  1. You must take a break from routines.  (i.e., God’s plan of the Sabbath.  God’s year of jubilee.)
  2. You must be aware of opportunities to experience life outside of the routines.  (i.e., Jesus’ discussion with the Samaritan woman.)
  3. You must not let routines run your life.  (i.e., Jesus’ discussion with the religious leaders regarding the Sabbath.)

So now it is time to continue getting back to the fall routine of my life.

One response to “Return To Routines

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Like

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 893 other followers

