Regrowth   Leave a comment


Today’s instruction for my Lucky Bamboo is:

You can cut me shorter and I will root again in 2 months. 

When I read this instruction today, it brought to mind the times in life when people and situations seem to cut me down.  I am sure that all of you can list off individuals and situations that seem to cut you off at the knees.  Yet, I am still here.  I find that each time I experience being cut, I am able to come back a bit stronger and a bit wiser.  There are many times that significant growth, or even a little growth, takes place in the process.  Some would say that it is perseverance.  As a believer, I am reminded of this quote from Scripture:

Blessed is the one who perseveres under trial because, having stood the test, that person will receive the crown of life that the Lord has promised to those who love him.  (James 1:12)

The other thought that comes to mind is another important aspect of taking care of a plant or a tree, the importance of pruning.  Sometimes it is necessary to cut off parts of the plant to make the plant healthier.  By removing dead portions, unhealthy portions, or overgrown portions of the plant, the whole plant thrives because more of the nutrients are available to feed the healthy portion of the plant.  My life sometimes needs pruning.  This cutting back helps me live a healthier life.Lucky Bamboo

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 891 other followers

