Day 3 of Holy Week   Leave a comment


Quito, Ecuador, Good Friday 2010: Street proce...

Quito, Ecuador, Good Friday 2010: Street procession entitled Procesión del Jesús del Gran Poder (Jesus with the Great Power). Français : Quito, Équateur, Vendredi saint 2010 : procession appelée Procesión del Jesús del Gran Poder (Jésus au grand pouvoir). (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I decided this week to focus on the most important week for a believer…. Holy Week.  This is the time period between Palm/Passion Sunday and Easter Sunday.  During this week, Christians focus on the events of the last week of Jesus’ life.  Palm Sunday recalls the triumphal entry of Jesus into Jerusalem.  Everything starts in a very upbeat and positive manner but by the end of the week the attitudes are much different.  Today is the third day of Holy Week.

Today, I spent time considered Jesus’ words, “Father, forgive them, for they do not know what they are doing.”  (Luke 23:34, NIV)  It points out to me two important realities.  First, that even in the midst of pain, disappointment, abandonment, and dread, Jesus still had an attitude of forgiveness.  I am confident that if I was experiencing what Jesus was experiencing, and if I knew that I was on the path to execution, I would not have forgiveness at the forefront of my mind.  Jesus even provides them an excuse which would not hold water with me.  I am extremely grateful for this demonstration of forgiveness however.  It clearly communicates to me how deeply Jesus’ forgiveness can go.  I need that type of forgiveness.  I know that there are many aspects of my life that need a forgiveness that does not make sense, a forgiveness that I, myself, am not able to offer.

The second reality that stands out to me is that many times I do or say things that I do not even realize will have the impact that they do.  I am truly one of those who “do not know what they are doing.”  While I have never executed someone physically, I wonder how many times I execute someone with my words, my actions, my inaction.  How many times do I not even realize what I am doing to someone else?  to the Lord?  These words call me to be more mindful of how I can negatively impact others and not even realize it.

So on the third day of holy week, I hear Jesus’ words of forgiveness and am challenged to be more mindful of the way I do things unknowingly.

 

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 891 other followers

