Making The Effort   Leave a comment


Bicycle

Image by analox & admiré via Flickr

This afternoon as I was driving, I saw a person on a bicycle heading up a hill.  I could tell that he was struggling to continue to pedal up the hill.  Since I have had similar experiences, I imagined him telling himself to just keep going and that he would make it.  (That is what I told myself in that situation.)  The other thought that came into my mind was how much I admired him in his making the effort and not giving up.

All of this led me to think how grateful that I am to have believe in a Lord who is excited if I just continue to make the effort.  While the Lord is perfect and desires me to work toward that perfection, I do not have to be perfect right away.  All the Lord requires is that I continue to make the effort.  The Lord does not want me to give up.

I know that I don’t always believe in completeness.  I know that I do not always say what the Lord would have me say.  I know that I do not always do what the Lord would have me do.  I know that I have a long ways to go in my faith walk, in my obedience to the Lord, and in my witnessing of my faith by the way I live my life.  As much as I know that, the Lord knows it even more.  But instead of giving up on me, instead of walking away from me, the Lord celebrates every day that I make the effort.

So keep making the effort and the Lord will fill in the gaps!

Posted August 25, 2011 by thoughtfulbeliever in Experiences, Faith/Life Connections

Tagged with , , ,

Leave a Reply

