Preparing for 9/11   11 comments


September 11, 2001 attacks in New York City: V...

Image via Wikipedia

Preparing for 9/11……

Who would have ever thought that such a phrase would exist in my mind.  Ten years ago, I and almost everyone else in the world had no idea that there would be something so significant about September 11.  Unless you had an anniversary, birthday, or special appointment on that day, it blended into the year like any other day.  Then came those horrific events that would etch into my, and most people’s mind, September 11, 2001.

After that day, I totally came to understand the statements that people who lived on November 22, 1963 or December 7, 1941 made.  My exact location and what I was doing at 7:46 AM (CDST) on September 11, 2001 would be stamped in my thoughts forever.  As the day would continue and events would unfold, I came to realize that this would be a day that would shape the rest of my life.

So for the last 48 hours, I have been trying to determine exactly what I will do on this Sunday morning.  As I lead individuals in the worship of the Lord, I realize that since it is the 10th anniversary of that momentous day, I needed to address it once again.  I have been feeling many of the same feelings that I had as I prepared for the Sunday after September 11.  What do you say?  How do you respond?

I spent a large portion of time yesterday looking at YouTube videos that might be beneficial on Sunday morning.  Many of those videos reminded me of the impact that the events of that day had on me and others.  Many of the emotions that I felt on that day came flooding back.  My thoughts once again returned to those who lost their lives on the planes and in the buildings that were destroyed that day; thoughts to the families of the victims.  Knowing that the security and sense of peace that we all had grown accustomed to in our nation was swept away on that day was truly an overwhelming feeling.  As I saw those images once again, it made it clear to me that even though life has gone forward and there has been a recovery of the security at some levels, I do not have the same level of trust in that security.  I am always a bit apprehensive about the safety of my life and the lives of those who I hold dear.

So I think I have determined a course of action for what I will say and do in regards to the anniversary of September 11 as I lead people in worship this Sunday.  I have altered some of the normal worship elements, I have added necessary worship aids, I have chosen a video to share, and I have pondered the words I will share.  I have made adjustments in my schedule just like I did ten years ago.  I have made the decision that I do not want to treat September 11, 2011 just like any other Sunday.  I will pray, remember, and recommit myself to all that I did on September 11, 2001.  I will honor those who died and I will not forget.

Maybe I am prepared; maybe not.  Maybe I am no more prepared than I was on that day.  But I know that I am changed.  I know that I have a different understanding of where my security lies.  I know that I have a different view of what matters.

What are you thinking as we approach the 10th anniversary of September 11?  Will the day be different for you?  What do you recall from ten years ago?  I am eager to hear what you have to share.

Leave a Reply

