Blowin’ In the Wind   1 comment


Blowin' In the WindThis week is Homecoming week at the local high school.  What that translates in to in the community, among other things, is that it is a week of houses being adorned in toilet paper.  We have had the privilege of being experiencing this twice so far this week.  (Although I must say that I think the youth could do a better job.)  It is actually a strange sign of acceptance in the community if you have the privilege of waking up in the morning and seeing toilet paper dangling from your trees.

This morning is the start of a very windy day so the toilet paper is flying in the breeze quite a bit.  Watching the moving toilet paper caused me to think about times in life that I feel like I am just flying in the breeze.  There are many different emotions and feelings that accompany such an experience.

At times, this can be a very lonely experience.  I feel like I am out here on my own trying to survive the various movements of the wind.  Other times this can feel very liberating.  There is a feeling of motion and a sense that I am being encouraged to go in directions that I never thought about moving in.  Some times there is a sense of exhaustion.  A feeling that I am going to quit trying to fight the movement of the wind because I have no energy to continue the fight.

As Christians we hear of a warning about letting the “winds of thought” take us places:

Ephesians 4:14
“Then we will no longer be infants, tossed back and forth by the waves, and blown here and there by every wind of teaching and by the cunning and craftiness of people in their deceitful scheming.”  (NIV)

This passage tells us to be mature in our faith and not be tossed and blown by the wind of others.

Yet we also see the wind serving as a metaphor for the Spirit.  We hear about the arrival of the Spirit during Pentecost as the sound of a great rushing wind.  So we know that the Spirit can act much like the wind in moving us places.  Much like the wind, we do not always know where the Spirit is moving to but only know that the Spirit is moving.

So I come to the conclusion that it is alright to be ‘ in the wind, as long as I know the source the wind.  If the source is a human one, I need to resist and remain on course.  If the source is the Spirit, then I should go wherever it is taking me.

Posted September 29, 2011 by thoughtfulbeliever in Christian Living, Faith/Life Connections

Tagged with ,

One response to “Blowin’ In the Wind

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Good post. Discernment discernment! Blessings.

Leave a Reply

