Satisfaction of Completing Work   1 comment


To-do list book.Over the last couple of weeks, I have been highly successful in completing projects that I have been wanting to complete for some time.  As I sat reflecting on that, I realized that for me there is great satisfaction in completing work.  I am the type of person that has a “to-do” list on my Outlook.  It is a great reward for me to check items off the list each and every day.  But there are some items that I don’t even place on my list and these are the items that I have been completing on a fairly regular basis over the last few weeks.

So naturally, I have wondered what it is about completing work that makes me experience such an emotional high.  I think it actually is a combination of a few different things.  First, when I complete a project that has been in the back of my mind, it frees up space in the back of my mind.  I am not one that sits idle very much (something I believe I inherited from my mother) and actually have to force myself to take some down time so that I can recharge and keep myself healthy.  But when I keep projects in the back of my mind, they tend to eat at me.  I experience feelings of guilt if I am taking down time.  So when a project is completed that takes away the pressure and guilt that I place on myself.

The next aspect that leads to my emotional high is that when the project is complete, there is some type of improvement that has occurred.  The reason that I wanted to complete the project is so that an improvement takes place.  I am driven by the need for continued improvement around myself.  So when a project is completed, I find satisfaction in the reality that something has changed toward the positive.

Today, I find myself very satisfied that projects are being completed.  What brings you satisfaction?

One response to “Satisfaction of Completing Work

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Thank you for following my blog. 🙂

    You write interesting articles and give the reader pause for pondering. Shalom

Leave a Reply

