Somebody to Talk To   Leave a comment


John Longanecker talking on a phone after eati...

Image via Wikipedia

Some days I just need someone to talk to.  Have you ever had those days?  I find that there are days that I have so many thoughts and so many ideas and so many concerns running through my head.  Those are the days that also feel like I cannot even put together more than two cars on the thought train, let alone a whole train of thought.

How amazing it is if you can actually identify someone who can just sit and listen.  I find that when I talk things out (even if my thoughts jump all over the place at first), I am able to sort through all the thoughts and begin to make sense of them.  If I don’t have someone to talk with and end up only talking to myself, the mess seems to just get messier.

But maybe you are a lot like me.  I stop and say to myself, “It’s not fair to bother someone else and take time out of their busy day to ask them to listen to all these thoughts when I am not even sure that I could share them in a coherent way.”  I also am not looking for the other person to create a solution for me but to listen.  But I know that it is hard for me to sit back and listen without trying to devise a solution so I assume that others are the same way.  So often I just feel frustrated and hope that it passes away soon.

God created us to have a need for other people and to live in community with other people.  I think that it is important for us to lean on others and to have them lean on us. God knew that it was not good for us to be alone so God created others as helpers.  But I often fail to turn to the helpers around me to actually help me.

So if you are having one of those days when you are just needing someone to talk to, give me a call, send me an email, or just stop by.  I will try to do the same.

Posted December 8, 2011 by thoughtfulbeliever in Experiences, Life

Tagged with , ,

Leave a Reply

