Light Versus Darkness   1 comment


English: Christmas lights Nederlands: Kerstver...

Image via Wikipedia

One of my favorite aspects of this time of year is all the Christmas lights that adorn houses, businesses, city streets, and offices.  I could spend hours driving around communities just looking at the Christmas lights.  So this morning I began to wonder what it was about those lights that are so appealing to me.

The first thought that came to my mind was that during this time of year, the sun makes a much briefer appearance.  I get up in the morning and work out when it is still dark outside.  Most days I leave the office after the sun has gone down.  So darkness seems to be a major component of my waking hours.  Like many others, this is not a thrilling reality to me.  I think that it is because darkness does not represent active life to me.  I see it as an absence of life.  So the Christmas lights tend to pierce through that darkness and remind me of active life.

As a Christian, this fits very well with my understanding of one of the aspects of the incarnation of God in Jesus Christ.  In John 1:5 the writer states:  “5The light shines in the darkness, and the darkness has not overcome it.”  (NIV)  He is referring to Jesus coming into the world.  So the idea of Jesus being the light shining into the darkness of the world and that the darkness will not be successful in hiding that light seems to me to coincide with the feelings I get when looking at Christmas lights.

In addition, since Jesus came into the world to give us new life.  My feelings that the Christmas lights give me a sense of life within the dark fits as well.  I am reminded by those lights that there still is life even though the darkness seems to be lifeless.

Maybe my thoughts will give you a new perspective on all the beautiful lights you see as you drive through your community.  May the lights remind us of the Light in which we believe!

One response to “Light Versus Darkness

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Pingback: So … THIS is Christmas! | Gratitude is an Attitude!

Leave a Reply

