Remembering the People   1 comment


Christmas season is a very busy time for many of us.  All the preparations and added tasks that come with the season.  I have shared a bit about aspects of this season in a few of my recent posts.  (See http://wp.me/p1HigT-gC and http://wp.me/p1HigT-ha)  The concept that comes to my mind is the importance of people this Christmas season. 

As I watched cars zipping up and down the road in front of my office today, I began to ponder who the people were in those cars.  Where are they rushing to?  What are their plans for this Christmas?  Are they dealing with concerns or issues?  I probably will never get any answers to my questions.  However, watching them rushing around made me very aware of how often I rush around during this season.  I explain it away by stating that I have so many things that I need to do and so many expectations that I need to fulfill.  But today I was keenly aware that the main purpose of this celebration that Christians and non-Christians are participating in this weekend is to remind us of relationships.

The main purpose of Christ coming to earth was to fix the brokenness and establish clarity in the relationship between God and all of humanity.  For God, and therefore for Jesus, the greatest concern was people.  It was because of a great love that God had (and still has) for people that God chose to become human in Jesus.

So that made me pause and to remind myself that all that I do during this Christmas season should be because of the people in my life.  While I am a high detail oriented person, and while there are great benefits in being that type of person, I need to be aware that I am doing all of this because of people.  If I rush around so that all the details are managed but fail to remember the people, then what I do has far less value.

I encourage each of my readers to be sure to remember the people as you work on preparing for another wonderful Christmas celebration.

christmas 2007

Image by paparutzi via Flickr

One response to “Remembering the People

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hi there! This post couldn’t be written any better! Reading through this post reminds me of my previous room mate! He always kept talking about this. I will forward this article to him. Pretty sure he will have a good read. Thank you for sharing!

Leave a Reply

