A Great Gift   1 comment


The laughter of a child

The laughter of a child (Photo credit: cams-not-in-lux)

This morning I was reminded of the great gift that we have in laughter.  It is very easy in life to get so caught up in the serious issues.  Now, I am not discounting the importance of tackling the serious issues in my life but I believe that laughter may help me to keep a perspective on those issues.  I also realize that there are times when laughter is appropriate and times where laughter is not appropriate.  But research shows us that laughter has a very therapeutic value.

This week has been filled with some serious issues that require my attention.  Yet, today I was able to spend some time in laughter.  I felt the change in me.  I found that while the issues still remain, I am able to look at them in a different light.  I had the sensation that the burdens had become lighter in some ways.

The other benefit that I gain from laughter is an encouragement to not take myself so seriously.  Again, it can become very easy in the depths of dealing with serious matters to take myself seriously.  I can get into a mindset where I strive to be some sort of super hero who can take on the burdens of others and see myself as the one that has to fix those issues.  Instead, if I am able to have a little laughter and remind myself that I do not have to constantly focus on the serious issues, I am more capable of becoming a partner with others and assisting with a resolution to the issue.

Laughter is a great gift that God has given to me.  The Lord also has impeccable timing and knows when is best to introduce laughter into my day so that I can have a much better perspective.  Thank you Lord for the gift!

Posted March 15, 2012 by thoughtfulbeliever in Experiences, Life

Tagged with , ,

One response to “A Great Gift

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. This helps me to remember to take God’s plan for me seriously… but not to take myself seriously… TY

    Kinser Connie & Jim

Leave a Reply

