For Such A Time As This   1 comment


Esther and Mordecai

Esther and Mordecai (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

“…. for such a time as this”

These are the words that Mordecai shared with Queen Esther when discussing her intervention to save her Jewish brothers and sisters.  For me today, these words took on a personal meaning.  I started my day feeling a bit physically and emotionally exhausted.  Some days and weeks are like that.  I was questioning if I was adding much value to the situations and relationships in which I am engaged.  But then all of that changed as I was preparing to head to the office.  I received a phone call and was asked to have a conversation with an individual.  Through that counseling conversation, God adjusted my perspective and reminded me of a few realities of which I had lost sight.

As a believer, I believer in a sovereign God.  Simply put, God is in charge and nothing escapes the sight, knowledge, or power of God.  This means as a believer, there is no such thing as chance.  Random star alignments, the movement of planets, the sifting of ocean sands, or any part of creation has the power to control or manipulate life.  The creation itself is such that it is because the Creator made it so.  Now, I am not encouraging a debate between evolution and creationism because I do not believe that there is a debate.  For me, I’m alright with the concept that evolution is a tool that God used to create.  What I am trying to emphasize is that I believe God has knowledge of events and their outcomes and through that knowledge God works towards the benefit of all of creation, especially humanity.  This does not eliminate free will but emphasizes the power of God since the Lord can even use the choices we make to move us towards the benefit that God desires for us.

Since as a believer, I do not believe in randomness or chance, that means that chance did not prompt the phone call that I received today and the ensuing conversation, God saw two sets of needs and brought the individuals with the needs together.  I needed to get a better perspective on life and a change in my attitude.  The person whom I had conversation with needed to have a listening ear, a reassurance of faith, and access to some options.  My hope is that the individual was blessed in the counseling conversation as much as I felt blessed in having the conversation.

All of this brings me back to the passage in Esther.  In the Lord’s view, no one is without value or purpose.  We are who we are and we are located where we are because there is value in us being there.  No matter what type of job we have or where that job is located, we are not there by chance but because we have a purpose in being there.  Some days we can lose sight of this reality in God’s world.  We may find ourselves in what appears to be mindless jobs and tasks and wonder what benefit any of it could bring.  We may feel that we are overlooked and unnoticed.  We may feel like a little fish in a large sea or a small cog in a huge machine.  But that is not how God sees our situation.  We have a purpose where we are and what we are doing, no matter how grandiose or how mundane.

What I was reminded today was that I always need to be open to what the Lord may be doing in and through me.  I need to be available for the Lord to do work even if I am unaware of it, or if like today, it is fairly obvious.  I need to wake up each morning and offer my prayer that the Lord may work through me this day.  I need to offer my day and my life in that day to the Lord each and every day.

Remember, the Lord has put you where you need to be and doing what you need to be doing “for such a time as this.”

One response to “For Such A Time As This

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. After reading and reflecting on this, I have a different attitude about my committment for this afternoon !!!!

    Kinser Connie & Jim

Leave a Reply

