Until It’s Gone   Leave a comment


This is a picture of refrigerators, some of wh...

(Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Have you ever noticed how easy it is to take some things for granted until they are not available to you?  I had an experience this morning that reminded me of this reality.  Last fall, I got a new refrigerator.  One of the features that sold me on this refrigerator was the in-the-door water and ice dispenser with filter.  Every morning when I work out, I get a glass of ice water from the refrigerator and drink it throughout my workout.  This morning I went to get my water and found out that the whole front panel of the refrigerator was dead and therefore the dispenser was not working.  I tried some quick fixes but had no success in restoring it to working condition.  So I worked out today without my glass of ice water.  I missed my ice water so very much!

I am sure that all of you can identify typical experiences.  Maybe it is during a thunderstorm or ice storm when you lose electricity.  It might be after a car accident when your vehicle is in the shop for repairs.  Or maybe it is after a medical procedure when you do not have the freedom to walk or do another normal activity in your day.  Each of these situations bring clearly to our minds how we can take simple things for granted.

The same can be said about individuals.  Many of us parents bemoan the day when our oldest child is off to college so he/she can no longer shuttle their younger siblings to various events.  I know there are many times since my mother died that I realize how much I took for granted the opportunity to call her with a question or to hand her a special project to do for me or an opportunity to just have conversation about something happening in my life.  I can take individuals for granted as much as abilities or objects.  I sometimes do not notice it until they are gone.

I think as a believer, I can easily do the same with God.  It is easy for me to assume that the Lord is always present and will be there ready to respond whenever I call upon him.  How quickly I can fall into the habit of only turning to the Lord when I am in crisis mode.  The big difference between God and all the situations that I mentioned above is that God never is gone.  I may forget to turn to God but God never abandons me.  The psalmist reminds us of this when we see the words, ” he who watches over you will not slumber;  indeed, he who watches over Israel will neither slumber nor sleep.”

Today, I will try to do a better job of not taking anything for granted.  Maybe you will choose to do the same.

Leave a Reply

