What’s Good About It   1 comment


Statue of the Crucifixion of Jesus outside of ...

Statue of the Crucifixion of Jesus outside of campion hall. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Today believers in Christ will remember the events of Jesus’ death on the cross.  I’ve been in conversations about why this day is referred to as Good Friday in the Christian calendar.  The conversations all go along the lines of:  “If Jesus died on a cross this day, why do we call it Good Friday?’  So let me address that question.

First of all, a person needs to understand the meaning of the word “good” in the context of the title of this day on the Christian calendar.  When we use that word, we are often using it to refer to something positive that has happened or a positive trait in a person, event, or object.  That is not the understanding that should be applied to the word in the context of this Christian day.  Here the word is to mean “pious or holy“.  We can definitely agree that this is a holy day for Christian believers.

On a more personal note, for me as a believer in Jesus, this day truly is a good day.  If Jesus would not have died on the cross, I would not have been given an opportunity for my sins to be removed.  My own piety could never come close to covering my sins even if I lived a life that had little to fault.  I need Jesus to pay the price that I cannot pay on my own.  So as a sinner, Jesus’ death on the cross is definitely a positive event for me.

Yes, today I grieve because of the events I remember in Jesus’ life.  I grieve that I was not able to be obedient to God and follow God’s plan so Jesus had to be obedient for me.  I grieve that Jesus, my Lord, had to suffer and feel the pain that I actually deserved.  I grieve that Jesus had to die in order that I may live.  I grieve.  But I also rejoice because Jesus chose to be obedient, to suffer and feel pain, to die for my benefit.

This truly is GOOD FRIDAY in every sense of the words.

One response to “What’s Good About It

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Pingback: HAVEN TODAY-THE WAY OF THE CROSS -LISTEN NOW « Ioan17 – John 17

Leave a Reply

