Endurance   Leave a comment


1650WD6956.image_media_vertical Maratonista br...

(Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I have never been known as an athlete.  I have been involved a lot in athletics one way or another but I have never been an athlete.  You will probably never see me run a race of any type.  However, I can relate to one aspect of a racer…. endurance.  Whether you are a runner or a NASCAR driver, if you are going to be successful, you must have a pretty high level of endurance.  You need to be able to keep going even when you feel that you cannot go any farther.

I can relate to this because I believe that endurance is a key to life in general and in my faith life as well.  I am sure that I am not alone when I say that there are some days that I just do not feel like doing the activities of that day.  There are days when going to work does not sound like anything I remotely desire to do.  There are days when attending another meeting is the most horrid thought.  There are days that I don’t want to do laundry.  There are days that I don’t want to work out.  There are days that I don’t even want to get out of bed.  But I do those things even on the days that I do not want do it.  Why?  Because I have responsibilities to others.  I have a responsibility to myself.  I know that enduring those days will allow me to be successful in the future.

The same can be said about my faith life.  There are days that reading the Bible, spending time in prayer, or participating in a faith discussion just does not sound appealing.  However, I endure those days and I push forward because I know that participating in those activities will help strengthen my faith and push me forward when I feel I have nothing more to give.  That’s what endurance is all about.  Paul said it this way:

“3 Not only so, but we also glory in our sufferings, because we know that suffering produces perseverance; 4 perseverance, character; and character, hope. 5 And hope does not put us to shame, because God’s love has been poured out into our hearts through the Holy Spirit, who has been given to us.”  (Romans 5:3-5, NIV)

Paul uses the word “perseverance” which for me is almost a synonym for endurance.  So I often substitute endurance where Paul places perseverance.

So whether it is a day that I am eager about what is planned or a day when I would rather avoid what is planned, I will endure and know that the character and hope that I gain will be a great reward in the end.

Leave a Reply

