Being Available   6 comments


People engaging in casual conversation on a si...

(Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Over the last couple of days, I have once again been reminded of the importance of believers being available to the Holy Spirit.  There have been multiple situations lately when I have been engaged in a conversation that led to some discussion of faith.  The key for me in these situations has been to make sure that I was available for whatever the work the Holy Spirit chose to do through me.  I must admit that I am not very conscious of making myself available.  However, every morning during my early morning prayers, I ask the Lord to work through me in whatever way would benefit others.  I think that is a vital step in being available.

The other vital step is to be engaged with people.  This requires a person to intentionally place time into his/her day where they interact with people outside a normal work environment.  Those people with whom I interact may be connected to my work or they may not.  That is one of the reasons that I find going to the coffee shop to be an important part of my work day.  I come into the office and work for about thirty minutes before heading to the coffee shop where I spend some time.  There are many times that conversations occur during and after this period of my day which lead to some faith discussions.  If I didn’t make time to be in that location, then those conversations probably would not happen.

This concept is very important for all believers.  Many times people feel that Christians sit in an ivory tower and proclaim judgments on the world.  Christians are accused of not engaging with the world.  Some Christians are accused of keeping their lives segmented; faith inside the church walls, “regular” life outside the church walls.  These are stereotypes and judgments placed on believers, sometimes unfairly, that can easily be reduced if believers were more open and available for the Spirit to work through them in all aspects of their day.

My challenge to myself and each of you is to BE AVAILABLE.

6 responses to “Being Available

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Great post! I think if we begin to ask God every day, “How can I be a blessing to someone else today?” Our eyes will be more open to opportunity! Thanks for your post. I will notice someone today 🙂

  2. Pingback: Keeping faith, Update on Trish’s Cancer… Possible Good news. | One Lifetime

  3. Pingback: Keeping faith, Update on Trish’s Cancer… Possible Good news. | RJBWEB

  4. Pingback: Keeping faith, Update on Trish’s Cancer… Possible Good news. | Barbier Family Blog

  5. Pingback: Keeping faith, Update on Trish’s Cancer… Possible Good news. | Transient Reflections

  6. Pingback: Open Door « thoughtfulbeliever

Leave a Reply

