How Did I Make It?   Leave a comment


とまれ

(Photo credit: eriart38)

I was sitting the other day thinking about my years as a youth.  I have come to realize that it is truly amazing that I am still alive.  I did not have the level of protection that the government, medical professionals, and other well-meaning individuals are now providing for the youth (and adults) of today.  It seems every time that I turn around any more I am hearing, “We cannot do that any more, it isn’t safe.”  It makes me truly wonder how I survived with all the unsafe activities that I participated in while growing up.

Here’s a list of those unsafe activities or practices that I miraculously survived:

  • Running through a hoop with paper over it to start a football game.
  • Riding in a school bus with seats that I could see over.
  • Sitting on a chair with my feet unable to touch the floor.
  • Sliding down the support pole of a large slide.
  • Playing with toys that the government had not approved.
  • Spinning around a merry-go-round in the school playground.
  • Making a treehouse with wood slats on the tree trunk as a ladder.
  • Swinging with one person standing up while the other was seated.
  • Swimming in the creek.
  • Having free time while at camp.
  • Having volunteer counselors at camp.
  • Bringing birthday treats to school and sharing them with others.

I’m sure there are other items but you get the idea.  I understand that times change and that for various reasons and what was once safe may no longer be safe.  My question is:  How many of the problems we attempt to fix, actually make larger problems.  The world is not safe, it has not been safe since humanity left Eden.  Somehow I survived and millions of others survived.  Do we give up some joy in life when we try to make life completely

safe?

Just my thoughts for today.

Posted April 19, 2012 by thoughtfulbeliever in Life

Tagged with , , ,

Leave a Reply

