Fail To Notice   1 comment


Have you ever realized how easy it is to not notice certain things about your environment?  Today the city roads department began repainting the handicap parking stalls in the public parking outside my office.  When I came to the office today, I noticed that they had painted the big blue box on each side of the ramp area from the parking to the sidewalk.  The question that came into my mind was:  Has there always been two parking stalls marked handicap?  I walk by those stalls almost every time that I come to the office.  I know those stalls are there.  But for the life of me, I cannot remember if there has always been two.  Part of me thought there was one on one side on some  years and then they switched sides on other years.  Why shouldn’t I be able to answer that?  I think it is because I have failed to notice since it did not directly impact me.

I am sure that this is not the only thing that I have failed to truly notice.  I am sure that I go through life and just have a vague realization that something is there.  I see the item every day.  I know that it is in a certain spot.  I take for granted that it will be there every time I go by it.  I know that there have been times when I have moved something around and later when I wanted to put it back, I cannot remember how it was originally laid out.  I just take for granted that everything is in its spot and it will be there the next time I look.  Sometimes, I may even do this with people.  I expect them to be in the setting that I am accustomed for them to be in and so when I see them in a different setting, it takes me a while to figure out why I know them.

For believers, we might even encounter something similar in relation to the Lord.  We take for granted that the Lord will provide certain aspects of life.  We take for granted that the Lord is always there and so we may not take the time to even acknowledge the Lord’s presence.  We may fail to notice the details and the work that the Lord is doing in our lives.  We fail to notice.

I challenge all my readers to take some time and think about what you may be failing to notice.  Feel free to comment and share what you have discovered.

 

One response to “Fail To Notice

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. thoughtful post – hope it makes us all more thoughtful

Leave a Reply

