Important Days   3 comments


 

September 11, 2001 attacks in New York City: V...

September 11, 2001 attacks in New York City: View of the World Trade Center and the Statue of Liberty. (Image: US National Park Service ) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 

There are specific days in our lives that stick in our minds in a way that causes us to be able to remember even the smallest details of the day.  The memories of these days can even include smells, sounds, and tastes that are associated with that day.  Like many citizens of the United States, September 11, 2001 is one of the days.  My memories of that day are so vivid that I can tell you what I had for breakfast, I can recall interaction with people, even strangers, I can still feel the emotions of that day as I recall the memory of it.  It was a very important day in my life and one that will forever have an impact upon me.

 

Recalling this important day has caused me to think about what other important days have been a part of my life.  I have very vivid memories of the day that my oldest son was born.  I can recall conversations that I had with individuals that day.  I can recall what it was like at the hospital.  I can remember the emotions and the activities of my day.  The same can be said about the day that my youngest son was born.  These were very important days in my life.

 

The day that my mother died is another one of those days.  Sometimes days filled with grief are the hardest to remember details about because we often go into a rather numb state.  For me, I again can recall conversations, my activities, the emotions, the smells, and the experiences of that day.

 

There are a few other days that I could include in my list.  The point of all of this however is to remind myself and you that there are important days that are captured in our lives forever.  Hopefully included in the list are days when we have experienced the Lord in a unique way.  Days when we can recall a particular blessing that the Lord has given to us.  Memories of days when valued people who the Lord has placed in our lives have made an impact on our lives.

 

Each of us have a list of important days.  Today, as we recall as a nation the horrific events of September 11, 2001, I encourage you to take time to recall the other important days on your list.

 

Leave a Reply

