Hope In the Lord   3 comments


 

...Hope...

…Hope… (Photo credit: ĐāżŦ {mostly absent})

 

Sometimes I am amazed at my ability to forget some of the fundamental aspects of my belief in Jesus Christ.  As I have read the Scriptures (both Old and New Testament), I have noticed how many times the Lord tells us that we need to place our hope not in something within our existence but instead in the Lord alone.  The reason for this advice is that even the best things that we encounter in life can lose their significance but the Lord never loses significance in our life.

 

There are days when I struggle to maintain my positive outlook.  On those days I am much more prone to find the negative aspects of life around me.  I point out to myself all the hurdles and the reasons that I will not be able to accomplish what I feel called to accomplish.  I take comments made by others in a negative assessment of myself or a situation.  I can easily let this negativity snowball until I get to the point of wanting to quit or give up.

 

The reality is that nothing is significantly different about that day than any other day of life in any other person’s life.  The truth is that I have just chosen to grab on to the negativity and my hope has suffered because of it.  Yet, the other truth is that if my hope is based on the successes of my life or the positive situations in the life around me, I am bound to experience these types of days.  I have centered my hope in the wrong place.  My hope needs to be centered in the Lord alone.  For the Lord does not disappoint and the Lord does not fail.  While there are more than sufficient positives in the life that I live, the only lasting one is in the Lord.  The Lord endures way beyond human life.

 

So today I am reminded of this passage in Scripture:

 

“3 Do not put your trust in princes,
in human beings, who cannot save.
When their spirit departs, they return to the ground;
on that very day their plans come to nothing.
Blessed are those whose help is the God of Jacob,
whose hope is in the Lord their God.”  (Psalm 146:3-5)

 

 

3 responses to “Hope In the Lord

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. A very thoughtful piece. I enjoyed reading it Jo

  2. Pingback: *Snowball Fight « He Dwells — The B'log in My Eye

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 874 other followers

