Reflection   Leave a comment


English: Reflection in water

English: Reflection in water (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

One of the most important thing for a leader to do is to take time to reflect.  I do not think that there is a prescribed way to reflect, nor do I think that a person needs to use the same method every time.  Some people are able to reflect  and take inventory of their thoughts by sitting by a lake.  For other people, reflection time comes when they are playing nine holes of golf.  Some choose to sit in a coffee shop sipping a flavored latte and reflect.  Whatever method that a person uses is not important but as a leader, taking the time to reflect is very important.

I think that reflection time provides an opportunity for an individual to get things in a more proper perspective.  It helps to sort through thoughts and feelings.  Reflection gives an opportunity to look at the current list of priorities driving one’s life and determine where changes might be beneficial.  Taking this specific times also helps to sort through the many voices that a leader hears from those around him/her.  It helps to reduce the distractions and provide space to redirect.

Yesterday, I had the opportunity to have some reflection time.  I was able to sort through some challenges that I have been dealing with lately.  I was able to identify the focus that I need to have for the current time.  I reviewed my priorities as an individual and the priorities that I see for the group that I lead.  I was able to reduce the emotions around some specific situations and view those situations with a different set of eyes.

If you are a leader, make sure that you are taking time to reflect.  If you currently are not in a leadership role, reflection can be beneficial for your personal life as well.

Posted September 28, 2012 by thoughtfulbeliever in Experiences, Leadership, Life

Tagged with , ,

Leave a Reply

