About Who?   2 comments


Purpose.com Pumpkinfest

Purpose.com Pumpkinfest (Photo credit: leesean)

Not about you 

We need to know that the purpose of our life is far greater than our own personal fulfillment. It’s far greater than our own happiness-though that is part of it. It is far greater than even our own peace of mind, and yet that is part of it. You were made by God for a very specific purpose. And it is not about you!

– David Roth

This was a quote that I read when I got to the office this morning.  It brings to me both comfort and challenge.  The comfort comes from the statement that David Roth makes, “You were made by God for a very specific purpose.”  This reminds me that I truly have an important purpose in the world.  It also reminds me that I am not here by random or chance but because God wants me here and has wonderfully made me to be part of the master plan.

The quote brings me a challenge as well in Roth’s final line, “And it is not about you!”  I am reminded that my purpose is something that is not “me” focused.  I am here to benefit others.  I need to constantly seeking how my words and actions benefit others.  I am to avoid becoming self-centered and focusing on only those items that benefit me.

As Roth says at the start, if I fulfill that specific purpose for which God created me and see that purpose as benefiting others, then personal fulfillment, happiness, and peace of mind will be the benefit I receive.

2 responses to “About Who?

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. As I read this this morning, I had two words that consisantly circled in my mind, TRUST and QUIT arguing with God about the place I am right now!! Really ties in with the thoughts from Sunday’s sermon……

    Kinser Connie & Jim

Leave a Reply

