Somewhere Else   Leave a comment


English: Am I walking into eternity along Sand...

(Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Have you ever pondered what you would be doing if you were somewhere else?  Maybe this is a little bit like daydreaming.  Over the last couple of days I have been contemplating that question.  As I have gone through a somewhat normal weekly/daily routine, I have wondered what would be different if I was located somewhere else.  Would I have the same type of employment?  Would I wear the same type of clothing?  Would I awake at the same time?  Would I do the same type of exercise?  Would I have the same breakfast, same coffee, same lunch?  Now I am not saying I am going to make a sudden or complete change in my location.  But I do think that it is a fun mental activity to dream a little or look at how life might be a bit different if I was somewhere else.

Maybe what has caused me to consider these things is that I recently watched It’s a Wonderful Life“.  As many of you know, the main character, George Bailey is dealing with some major hurdles in his life and out of frustration almost commits suicide because he thinks everyone would be better without him.  An apprentice angel saves George and then gives him the opportunity to see what life would be like if he had never been born.  George comes to the realization that he definitely wants to be alive and that his life does make a difference.

So maybe that has caused me to think about how life can be very different given a different location and/or set of characters with whom you interact.  I am not saying that it would be better or worse but different.  I am also not saying that the difference would be not being alive.  Instead, I am saying that the people and the location have an impact on who you are and how you live your life.

I, like many of you, have moved to different locations throughout my life.  Each location carries with it a whole new set of people to interact with, different employment, different stages in my life, and different habits and routines that make up my daily life.  Some of those aspects are better in different locations and some have been not as good.

There are two important realizations that I have come to during this mental exercise.  The first is that there is value in where I am located right now and doing what I am doing right now.  As a friend of mine says often, “God has placed you where you are.  God has something he wants to do in you and through you where you are.”  The second is that when a change of location comes, there is no reason to get anxious because there is value in the new place I may be going.  For that time in my life, the saying of my friend remains as true as it does where I am now.

So feel free to daydream about what you might be doing if you were somewhere else.  Then realize that you are where you are intended to be for right now.  God can change that at any time of any day.  In fact, that may change tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

