Day 4 of Holy Week   Leave a comment


( )

(Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Today I was reading from the Gospel according to John and focused in on 19:28.

“Later, knowing that all was not completed, and so that the Scripture would be fulfilled, Jesus said, ‘I am thirsty.'” 
(John 19:28, NIV)

I read so much more into Jesus’ words than just a physical thirst.  After all that he had been through and having already been crucified, I think that Jesus was thirsty for release.  He wanted release from the physical pain but he also wanted release from the spiritual pain.  As a believer, I believe that as Jesus hung on that cross all the sins of the people hung on him.  That would be a great spiritual burden.  During that last week of his life he wept for the people according to Scripture.  He saw all their spiritual battles and how their sinful choices added so much pain and heartache to their lives.  Jesus was thirsty for spiritual health for those whom he loved.

I think that Jesus also was thirsty for peace.  Again, this is a spiritual reality.  He was not looking for an absence of conflict but instead peace for his spirit.  He had seen and experienced so much conflict in the spirits of the people that he almost ached for peace to flow over him and the people.  This peace would only be obtained when the people were restored to the state in which God created them.  A peace that would be evident when there is harmony between the will of God and the wills of the people.  Jesus thirst for this peace.

My spirit often times thirsts for release from the spiritual pain that sin brings into my life and the peace that can only exist when my will aligns with God’s will.  I feel like the psalmist who wrote:  “As the deer pants for streams of water, so my soul pants for you, my God.”  (Psalm 42:1, NIV)  So I too am thirsty Lord.

Leave a comment