Speak or Silence   Leave a comment


Hear no evil. Speak no evil. See no evil

Hear no evil. Speak no evil. See no evil (Photo credit: smileham)

I think one of the challenging self-discipline skills that I face is the ability to know when to speak and when to remain silent.  Many people who know me well will say that I do a lot of speaking.  However, they do not know how much I keep silent.  I would say with that information out there, it is an ongoing struggle for me to know how to balance the speaking and silence effectively.

As a leader, it seems natural that I would do a lot of speaking.  My position and title also lends itself to the natural tendency to do a lot of speaking.  However, I am reminded of the words found in the Bible:

“All kinds of animals, birds, reptiles and sea creatures are being tamed and have been tamed by mankind, but no human being can tame the tongue. It is a restless evil, full of deadly poison.” (James 3:7-8, NIV)

What I say can have a tremendous impact.  The impact can either be good or can be destructive.  So I need to weigh what I say, if anything, very careful and remember the caution given to me in the Bible.

So whether to speak or to remain silent is the challenge that I put forth today.

Leave a Reply

