Amid the Blessings   Leave a comment


Garden with some tulips and narcissus

Garden with some tulips and narcissus (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Let me first say that I am very grateful that spring has finally arrived and the weather is much more “normal.”  Today will be a bit of exception to that since we will get our first taste of summer with temperatures in the 90’s.  However, everything is finally green and most of the trees have fully leaved out.

However, with the arrival of spring comes the arrival of my reaction to pollen.  My allergies are in full force today and it creates a bit of a miserable feeling with my eyes and nose.  This is the part of spring I could definitely do without.

So once again, I am faced with a decision — how do I respond to my current situation.  I could complain that my allergies are making me uncomfortable and I wish that spring had not arrived.  I could become grumpy and curse this beautiful spring day.  Another option for me is to see the blessings in this day.  I could focus on the beauty of creation and the wonderful temperatures.  I could focus on the signs of life and deep rich colors that surround me.  I have a choice to make.

It seems that this is the story of life.  We all have choices to make regarding our responses to the events of life.  Sometimes we will make beneficial choices and sometimes we will not.  Sometimes we will focus on the blessings and joys of life while other times we will choose to focus on what is wrong in life.  The reality is that our attitude impacts our day and impacts others.  So the choices of our responses have very significant effects.

My goal today is to focus on the blessings of spring and this day instead of focusing on the difficulties amid the blessings.

Leave a Reply

