Overcoming   Leave a comment


"we shall overcome . . .  again"

“we shall overcome . . . again” (Photo credit: snap turtle)

 

There is a hymn that was published in 1947 but gained lots of popularity during the Civil Rights Movement in the United States, “We Shall Overcome.”  This song was made well-known by civil rights leader, Dr. Martin Luther-King, Jr.  This song came into my head this morning as I was thinking about some situations that I am familiar with which seem to have a longevity of negative impact on individuals’ lives.  It reminded me that through my belief, I have confidence that whatever challenges face me, there is a way to overcome them.  So today, I share with you the lyrics of this hymn:

 

We shall overcome, we shall overcome,
We shall overcome someday;
Oh, deep in my heart, I do believe,
We shall overcome someday.

The Lord will see us through, The Lord will see us through,
The Lord will see us through someday;
Oh, deep in my heart, I do believe,
We shall overcome someday.

We’re on to victory, We’re on to victory,
We’re on to victory someday;
Oh, deep in my heart, I do believe,
We’re on to victory someday.

We’ll walk hand in hand, we’ll walk hand in hand,
We’ll walk hand in hand someday;
Oh, deep in my heart, I do believe,
We’ll walk hand in hand someday.

We are not afraid, we are not afraid,
We are not afraid today;
Oh, deep in my heart, I do believe,
We are not afraid today.

The truth shall make us free, the truth shall make us free,
The truth shall make us free someday;
Oh, deep in my heart, I do believe,
The truth shall make us free someday.

We shall live in peace, we shall live in peace,
We shall live in peace someday;
Oh, deep in my heart, I do believe,
We shall live in peace someday.

 

If you are facing some challenges in your life, I hope that you will remember the words of this hymn and realize that as it says, “The Lord will see us through.”

 

Leave a Reply

