Too Much   Leave a comment


Rain days

Rain days (Photo credit: @Doug88888)

Too much of anything is not a good thing.  That is what I am feeling as the rain comes down once again outside my office.  Last summer and fall we were struggling with drought conditions.  This spring/summer we are dealing with floods and multiple days of rain each week.  I am hoping a balance will be created in the near future.  (But I’m not holding my breath on that one.)

This has caused me to think some about the concept of moderation.  In a country where abundance and accessibility seems to surround many people, we also are aware of those who have little or nothing.  In a world where almost anything is available at the touch of a fingertip (thanks to the internet), there is a struggle with accumulating too much.

The accumulation, and/or consumption, of anything is not in and of itself a bad thing.  However, too much of anything without a responsible management and use of it can lead to very destructive results.  There is responsibility that comes with having.  The key seems to be balance or moderation.  Just like too much rain will lead to floods which have a very destructive impact on nature and the property of individuals, too much of anything can carry an equally destructive force on the lives of people and creation.  So again, we are back at the concept of moderation.

So as I listen to the rain, I pray that the Lord will bring moderation to the moisture that is so valuable and important to our world and to us.  I am also reminded that I need to act responsibly and seek out moderation in my life.

Leave a Reply

