The Heat Is On   Leave a comment


My office is a little hot

My office is a little hot (Photo credit: swanksalot)

Today marks the eleventh day that my office has had sporadic air conditioning at best.  Of course, this has to be the time when temperatures are in the 90s by mid-afternoon.  Let’s just say that working in the office is a bit unpleasant right now.  The good news is that tomorrow the heating and cooling person is scheduled to replace the air conditioning unit.  So I (and my administrative assistant) just have to make it 36 more hours.

This heat has caused me to think about the times in my position and life when events seem to turn the heat up.  These times are marked by conflict or a great amount of pressure.  They often are a true test of my leadership ability and my personal attributes.  They are very challenging but also can be that refining fire that improves the organization and myself.

As a believer, I know that the Bible speaks of God’s refining fire.  (See Psalm 66:10, Isaiah 48:10Zechariah 13:9 , Malachi 3:2-3, 1 Peter 1:7, and Revelation 3:18)  I am know that God’s refining fire is uncomfortable; just as the refining fire of events in my life and leadership can be uncomfortable.  But that refining is necessary in order to move toward an improved me and/or an improved organization which I lead.

So like the warm temperatures in my office today, I need to keep in my mind that during those heated times in life, they will not last forever.  There will always be relief close at hand.  So I will weather through it and know that I will be better because of it.

Leave a Reply

