Time for Calm   1 comment


Contemporary rendering of a poster from the Un...

Contemporary rendering of a poster from the United Kingdom reading “Keep Calm and Carry On”, created during World War II. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Today is one of those days where I feel like I am racing out of control.  For some reason last night I did not sleep well.  So today I am feeling a bit groggy.  Add to that a to-do list that keeps growing by the minute it seems.  I have also been dealing with some technology issues.  Needless to say, I am feeling like the proverbial hamster on the wheel.  All of this is causing me to have issues focusing and of course that seems to make the wheel go at an even greater pace.

SO IT IS TIME TO FIND SOME CALM

Let me say it again…..

SO IT IS TIME TO FIND SOME CALM

We all know that if you approach tasks and you are a bit out of control psychologically, mistakes are bound to happen.  In addition to mistakes, frustration levels tend to increase.  As frustration increases and mistakes multiply, then any interpersonal skills go out the door.  This often leads to handling situations in ways that are not helpful.  Words are not thought through well before being spoken.

SO IT IS TIME TO FIND SOME CALM

As a leader, I know that I am being watched.  I also know that a vital aspect of leadership is setting example.  So this morning, I am going to take about fifty steps back and try to get in a different frame of mind.  I am going to work hard on planning and organizing my work.  I am going to be mindful of my communication and work on the non-verbal aspects as well.  I am going to take pauses whenever I feel the calm leaving my body.

SO IT IS TIME TO FIND SOME CALM

At the end of the day, what must be accomplished will be accomplished.  So don’t mind me if I am silent for a little bit of time, I am just finding my calm.  You will most likely find me in prayer a lot today.

One response to “Time for Calm

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Pingback: More Than One Way | thoughtfulbeliever

Leave a Reply

