A Valuable Person   Leave a comment


Vulcan (Star Trek)

Vulcan (Star Trek) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

During my devotional time this morning, I was struck by how much emphasis Jesus puts on the value of one person (See Luke 15:1-7).  Jesus tells the people a story of a shepherd that leaves behind ninety-nine sheep in search of one lost sheep.  This seems to fly in the face of Spock‘s logic in the movie, Star Trek 2:  The Wrath of Khanwhen he states that “the needs of the many outweigh the needs of the few.”

This has caused me to think about how easy it is for us to forget the importance of looking at people as a group of persons.  We so often lump people together and the only identity they have is a group identity.  An example is how we lump people of the same ethnicity, or same social status, or same financial status.  We make judgments and statements in regards to the group and assume that everyone in that group fits into what our understanding of a group as a whole.  We lose the value of the person.

Today’s passage from the Bible reminded me of the value of each person.  It also reminded me of my own value as an individual.  There is not a person that does not have value.  The choices that each person makes can impact how the person is treated and how the person interacts within society, however, the person still has value.

I am going to try to strive today and in the future to look at the value of the person.  I am going to try to avoid making judgments regarding a person based on what group which she/he might be associated.  I am going to strive to remind others that they have value.  I am going to strive to remember that I have value.

Who will join me?

Leave a Reply

