Refuge   Leave a comment


Despair

(Photo credit: fakelvis)

Today a passage from one of the Psalms in the Bible came to my mind:

It is better to take refuge in the Lord
than to trust in humans.
It is better to take refuge in the Lord
than to trust in princes.

(Psalm 118:8-9, NIV)

The writer of this song is one that is facing battles.

We all have different battles in our lives.  They occur at different times and for different reasons.  Sometimes those battles are ones that rage within ourselves.  During these battles we may reach out to others and come to depend upon them.  I know that during those difficult times in my life I often reach out to others.  It might be a time when I need to make some difficult decisions.  It might be times when I am called upon to do something that I lack the confidence to do.  It might be when others are making attacks upon me for a variety reasons.  So I seek help from others.  However, humans are humans so at times they let us down.  Usually the let downs are not intentional but they still occur.

The writer reminds us that there is only one source of unconditional and completely reliable refuge and help — the Lord.   It is good to know that I truly can find refuge in the Lord.  It is good to hear the voice of the Lord reminding me that I have been created by God so that makes me valuable.  It is good to hear the voice of the Lord remind me that I do not walk alone.  So I trust in the Lord.

Leave a Reply

