Proper Priorities   Leave a comment


Calgón... Llévame

Calgón… Llévame (Photo credit: Daquella manera)

I’m back!  Sorry that I did not post last week but some family needs required my time and effort last week.  I made the decision to focus on those needs and the urgent needs of work.  This meant something had to take a back seat and I chose to let my blog posts take that back seat.  This was not due to my perception that my regular posts are not of value but instead a decision that some aspects of life had a higher priority last week.

This has led me to think about the difficulty some of us have in setting priorities.  We can all agree that there is never enough time or energy to meet all the demands we have in life.  Leaders know this reality all too well.  In fact, most of us would agree that there are times when these demands overwhelm us.  We all want to scream the phrase that was made popular in a television advertisement many years ago, “Calgon, take me away!”  So setting priorities is a must for almost every individuals, whether you are a leader or not.

It has been said that you can determine what is important in a person’s life by knowing how she/he spends her/his resources of time and money.  It is true that there is never going to be “enough” in most of our views but it is also true that there is definitely “enough” for what we find to be important.  So how we choose our priorities should be based upon what we find important in our lives.

I think that one of the issues that we have in society is that people have not been taught the value of setting priorities.  There are so many options in the world and so many opportunities.  Some individuals try to do it all.  The truth is that we are not able to do it all.  So we have to determine what our priorities for this time in our lives are going to be.  We have to keep those priorities always at the forefront of our minds.  They should guide us continually.  This way when we are overwhelmed with demands and opportunities, we are able to make appropriate decisions.  One of my mentors continually encourage me to make sure that I am including in my priorities those things which give me energy.  The reason is that there may be items in our priority list that are necessary but do not give us energy.  If all of our priorities are in that category, we will not have the energy to accomplish any of them.

So, I again apologize for not posting last week.  However, I do not apologize for setting what I view as proper priorities for my life at this time.

Leave a Reply

