In The Stillness   Leave a comment


English: Stillness Very calm late evening over...

English: Stillness Very calm late evening over Loomer Shun on Saxa Vord. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

What do you hear in the stillness?  There is not a lot of time in people’s lives any more when a person just is still.  I find myself spending a lot of time on the go.  I sometimes think that I am continually in motion.  In fact, I am not even sure that I am still when I sleep.  However, this morning I took some deliberate time to be still.  In so doing, I heard sounds that I let go unnoticed most of the time….. the clicking of a clock’s second-hand, the rushing of air through a floor vent as the furnace runs, the running of the fan on my laptop.

This has led me to wonder what might be heard if I took more opportunities to be still.  As a believer, I am aware that Scripture talks about stillness.  In the Psalms, the writer of one says, “He says, “Be still, and know that I am God; I will be exalted among the nations, I will be exalted in the earth.” (Psalm 46:10, NIV)  What does it mean to be still enough that the reality of God being God would be clear?

Another story from Scripture comes to my mind.  I am thinking of the story of Elijah who was hiding in a cave for safety while Jezebel was killing all the prophets of God.  This is part of that story:

The Lord said, “Go out and stand on the mountain in the presence of the Lord, for the Lord is about to pass by.”

Then a great and powerful wind tore the mountains apart and shattered the rocks before the Lord, but the Lord was not in the wind. After the wind there was an earthquake, but the Lord was not in the earthquake. After the earthquake came a fire, but the Lord was not in the fire. And after the fire came a gentle whisper. When Elijah heard it, he pulled his cloak over his face and went out and stood at the mouth of the cave.

Then a voice said to him, “What are you doing here, Elijah?”

(1 Kings 19:11-13, NIV)

If Elijah had not been still, he would never have heard the gentle whisper of God.  This would have led to Elijah not having the opportunity to receive direction from God.

I think that I underestimate the importance of taking time to be still.  What might I be missing in all of my racing around?  This is definitely an area of growth for me.

Do you take time to be still?  If so, what do you hear?  If not, what are you missing?

Leave a Reply

