Climbing the Ladder   1 comment


Alright, if you are one of those who does not pay attention to the titles place on blog posts, go back and read the title of this one now.

 

Now that everyone has the title in their minds, I am sure that many of you are thinking that I might be posting on something regarding climbing a corporate ladder.  While that might be applicable in this situation, that is not the direction that I am intending to take this post.  Instead, the title was triggered by a quote that I read which someone had posted on Twitter this morning.  Here is the quote:

“The only people who never tumble are those who never mount the high wire. This is your moment. Own it.” – Oprah Winfrey

I found this quote to be very thought-provoking.  I totally agree with the premise of what Oprah is saying here.  For me it has to do with being willing to take the risk and being willing to fail (or tumble).  I am the first to confess that I do not have a lot of that willingness in myself.  However, as I grow older, I am finding more and more willingness.  I attribute that to experience, observation, and a realization that only through some level of risk will I ever be able to grow and move toward my life goals.  I am becoming more and more the spokesperson for taking risks and accept times of tumbling.

These thoughts have allowed me to do some self-examination this morning.  I have thought about the times that I have chosen not to take the risk and climb the ladder to the high wire.  Through this self-examination, I have discovered that the problem is in the climbing the ladder.  Now I have never attempted to climb an actual ladder to an actual high wire but I am able to speculate what it might be like.  I would envision that the climbing of the ladder gives opportunity to do a lot of thinking.  With each rung, you realize that you are one step closer to that high wire and that once you arrive at the platform it will be expected that you step out on that high wire.  For me, that is where the problem lies.  I would overanalyze the situation.  I would most likely rationalize myself away from actually taking the step onto the high wire.  I think that is where my risk taking often becomes derailed.  I think through everything and determine that it is unwise to take the risk and so I do not.

However, Oprah’s words ring true.  If I am not willing to take the risk and step out on that high wire, knowing that I may tumble, I will never know what it is like to truly own the moment.

Image provided by dailymail.co.uk

Image provided by dailymail.co.uk

Posted March 6, 2014 by thoughtfulbeliever in Experiences, Life

Tagged with , , , , ,

One response to “Climbing the Ladder

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. let’s face it – we all get old, weaken and die – best to do what God wants us to do – when He wants us to do it

Leave a Reply

