Flow Like Water   Leave a comment


This has been another hectic week in my life.  I am sure that everyone that reads this post can relate to it.  We all have hectic weeks that can seem to go on endlessly and become very exhausting.  In fact, there can be a whole string of these weeks.  So as I sat in my office this morning I began to wonder how to survive a hectic week, or a series of hectic weeks.  The thought that came to my mind was one word….. PEACE.

During weeks like this one, I think that it is important to find periods when I can just sit and let peace flow like water over my spirit.  I struggle with this because during hectic times I feel any time not spent on taking care of tasks become wasted times.  However, when I am frantically moving from task to task or appointment to appointment, I know that I can easily become frustrated and often make mistakes which I have to correct and that takes more time.  So much like the importance of planning, I think that taking time to allow peace to overcome you results in great rewards.

I also want to say that the peace of which I speak is not what we normally think of when we heard that word.  Most of the time we think of peace as being the absence of conflict.  This definition is an acceptable one but not the only one.  The peace to which I am referring is a peace of spirit, a calming of spirit.  As a believer, I find that only one source of this true peace can be found.  Jesus speaks of this peace as he is preparing the disciples for his death.  He says, “Peace I leave with you; my peace I give you. I do not give to you as the world gives. Do not let your hearts be troubled and do not be afraid.”  (John 14:27, NIV)  This is the peace that I need to flow like water over my spirit.

So I encourage you to take time to experience the peace that Jesus promises if you are having a hectic week or a series of hectic weeks.

Image provided by epitemnein-epitomic.blogspot.com

Image provided by epitemnein-epitomic.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

