A Servant Heart   Leave a comment


Image provided by creationswap.com

Image provided by creationswap.com

Today, millions of Christians around the world will take time to remember what Jesus did on his final night as a free person.  They will gather in worship spaces and most will share in the Eucharist, communion, celebration of the Last Supper, the Lord’s Supper or whatever name they place on the breaking of the bread and the sharing of the cup.  They will hear readings from the Bible that recount Jesus’ actions during the day, that night as they shared  a meal, and then when they went to an olive grove to pray until Jesus was arrested.  For me, one of the often overlooked reality of this night was found in the actions of Jesus while they were gathered in a large room for a meal.  Here is how the Bible records it:

The evening meal was in progress, and the devil had already prompted Judas, the son of Simon Iscariot, to betray Jesus.  Jesus knew that the Father had put all things under his power, and that he had come from God and was returning to God;  so he got up from the meal, took off his outer clothing, and wrapped a towel around his waist.  After that, he poured water into a basin and began to wash his disciples’ feet, drying them with the towel that was wrapped around him.

(John 13:2-5, NIV)

For me, this is the sign of a servant heart.  This action reminds me that I need to work to have a servant heart.  I need to strive to identify and then follow through on ways that I can serve others.  My Lord gave me this example.  It is an example that I need to follow in all aspects of my life whether it is at work, in my home, or in my community.  Jesus time and time again demonstrated a servant heart.  We would all be better off if more of us displayed servant hearts as well.

Leave a Reply

