Need A Target   Leave a comment


Sometimes I feel like one of those toys that moves along a cord.  The toy starts at one end of the cord and advances until it hits a stop at the other end of the cord.  Now this may sound a bit strange but as I think as you keep that imagery in your mind, you will see that there is value to being like one of those toys.  So let me share why I feel this way.

I am a person that is motivated by goals.  I set goals for myself both in my professional and my personal life.  If you imagine each of those goals as one of the stops I mentioned in regards to the toy, then moving along toward that goal is like moving along the toy’s cord.  Sometimes those goals have to do with accomplishments or completion of projections.  Other times, those goals have to do with an event or a specific date.

This week, I have a specific date/event that I have been moving toward for about a week…. VACATION.  Following Christmas, I am taking some days of vacation.  So last week, I worked on getting projects completed with the knowledge that it moved me closer to my goal of vacation.  Today, I will try to complete all remaining tasks.  I am eagerly anticipating my vacation.  Because of my anticipation and the closer proximity of the first day of vacation, I have developed a mantra which includes a countdown to vacation.

Having a target date or goal is a motivating force for me.  It helps me move through life.  I eagerly anticipate and I work harder toward getting to that target.  When I have reached the target, then I set a new target and the work begins again.  There is great value in this because it means that I continue to make forward progress which is an ongoing goal in my life.

I think that this can be applied to many aspects of life.  For me, as I mentioned, it applies to both professional and personal aspects.  I have targets for projects that I want to see completed.  I have targets for achievements and improvements in my life.  I have targets for changes that I wish to take place.  I have targets for events that I anticipate.  I have targets for my faith growth.  This is how I maneuver through life.

Do you have a target?  Do you need a target?  How do you make movement forward?

Image provided by f3nation.com

Image provided by f3nation.com

 

Leave a Reply

