Release   1 comment


Image provided by www.ilgiornale.it

Image provided by http://www.ilgiornale.it

Today we pause to remember the liberation of the Nazi concentration camp, Auschwitz.  I confess that I never can truly understand what it must have been like to be a prisoner in such a place.  I also must confess that I have no concept of what a guard or worker must have thought as they observed the events which took place in this famous camp.  Living all my life in the United States and not even being alive during World War II, I have no point of reference.  So like many others in my generation, I pause to remember so that hopefully in remembering we will assure that this is not repeated.

During my pause today, I thought about what it must have been like to be released from a place which you witnessed horrific events and where you felt with certainty that you would see the end of your life.  The liberation must have brought on a flood of emotions that almost seemed unbearable.  There also had to be the aching question in many people’s minds, “What now?”  As the search began for loved ones not seen in long periods of time and an attempt to return to some level of ‘normalcy,’ I would imagine that there was a great feeling of release.

I am led today to think about what I wish to be released from in life.  While any sort of release that I may seek is small in comparison to those in Auschwitz, there are releases that I seek.  Some days it  is the release from a hectic schedule.  Other days it is the release from overpowering commitments.  Then at different times, it is the release from my own regrets and the sins which I have committed.

As a believer, I know that I have one opportunity for release that is guaranteed.  This release is that from the burden of sin which I carry.  Jesus provided an ironclad guarantee that I can be released from this burden.  However, I think that I often may be like some of the prisoners who were liberated from the horrible Nazi concentration camps, I stand at the entrance but do not walk through the open gate.  I am uncertain what might lie on the outside of my sin.  I am not completely convinced that what I am experiencing is real.  So instead of taking the release that is offered to me, I remain standing there with my sin in hand.

Today, I encourage everyone to pause and remember the liberation of Auschwitz.  I also encourage everyone to take hold of the release which is offered to every person through the death and resurrection of Jesus, the Christ.  Experience the freedom given to you by the Lord!

One response to “Release

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Thanks for sharing these thoughts today, Jim.

Leave a Reply

