Redesign   2 comments


Image provided by designcontest.com

Image provided by designcontest.com

I am finding that in many aspects of my life, I am being called upon to do some redesigning.  I am wondering how much of this is happening throughout the world.  As I think about this concept, I keep bumping into others in different situations that are having to redesign aspects of the world around them.  I have not done any in-depth research into this phenomenon but I am starting to come to believe that we are in a period of time when redesigning and redefining is within the fiber of our society.  I would venture to guess that throughout history, there are periods of redesigning and redefining which occur.

I happen to be a fan of the PBS Show, Downton Abbey.  As I watch the show which is set in the early 1900’s in England, I see that they are experience a period of redesigning and redefining.  I see parallels in the types of conversations and the challenges which arise during the period of time in the show and my own period of time.  I am struck by the reality that I am a product of that redesigning that took place in the early 20th century.  Since a majority of my ancestry comes from England, this point is even more evident for me.

This type of activity brings about anxiety and also great enthusiasm.  As shifts occur, there is fear but there also takes place a sense of release.  It becomes very common for people to identify “winners” and “losers” in these situations.  I would challenge myself and all of us to not adopt such an attitude but instead to look at this period of time as a series of opportunities for all people.  What we do with these opportunities will define who we are during this time.

2 responses to “Redesign

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. As always, thanks for your thoughts. I wish this was reaching 10 times more people than it may be. 🙂

Leave a Reply

