The Power of Positive Thinking   1 comment


Image provided by blog.metal-pages.com

Image provided by blog.metal-pages.com

I was thinking this morning about the differences between an optimistic view and a pessimistic view.  On a cold and cloudy day like today, it is very easy to lean much more toward the pessimistic side of thought.  As I walked outside this morning, I was thinking, “Not another day of this cold wind and freezing temperatures!”  I know that I have been complaining to anyone who will listen (and even those who fake listening) about how tired I am of winter.  So I would have to say that my viewpoint this morning has definitely been on the “half empty glass” side of things.

Yet, my thoughts betrayed me as I sat at my desk this morning.  I began to think about how close we are to the month of March.  I began thinking about the fact that March 20 is the “official” day of spring. Even though the weather does not always reflect this spring date, we are leaning much closer to warmer weather, thawing, greening grass and more sunshine.  When I looked at this in comparison to November 20, I realized that the end of winter is close at hand.

Once my thoughts shifted toward the more optimistic or positive side, I found my attitude and spirit lifting.  I realized that whenever I am dwelling on the negative aspects of life, I lose energy, focus, and feel very weighed down.  When I am able to shift towards the positive side, all of that goes in the opposite direction.

So I would like to challenge each of you to spend the day monitoring if you are looking at things from a half-full glass approach or a half-empty glass approach.  If you find yourself on the half-empty side, work at moving over to the half-full side.  I would suspect that you will find yourself much more energized if you do so.

One response to “The Power of Positive Thinking

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. We all need to hear this right now. Thanks for saying it.

Leave a Reply

