Reflecting Beliefs   Leave a comment


Image provided by kawprairie.org

Image provided by kawprairie.org

If you work with people, you are well aware that there are times when a person says something but their actions is not congruent with their words.  I have encountered this with individuals at various times.  More importantly, I have noticed this can be a true statement about myself at times (I only notice this when I take time to reflect back.)  So one of the challenges that I have placed before myself recently is to strive to reflect what I believe through the way in which I live and act.  This has caused me to spend some days considering what I truly believe.  While this list is still in progress, here are some of the items which I have placed on my list:

  1. I believe that above anything else, God loves ALL people (even the ones who I strongly disagree with).
  2. I believe that the Lord loves me more than I can ever describe.
  3. I believe God’s grace is all-sufficient.  There is nothing which I can name that is not overcome by God’s forgiveness.
  4. I believe that I am an imperfect child of the Lord.
  5. I believe that the key to any relationship (human-human or human-the Lord) is communication.
  6. I believe that everyone deserves a chance to be understood and offered care.
  7. I believe everyone has value.
  8. I believe that the greatest challenge and greatest joy is living as the person the Lord has created you to be.
  9. I believe that there is hope even in the darkest of situations.
  10. I believe that there is no mistake which is so great that it cannot be overcome.
  11. I believe that I can always learn from someone if I will take the time to listen.
  12. I believe that I can always strive to improve but must also celebrate who I have become.

Now I have a few questions for my readers…..

Do your lives and actions truly reflect what you believe?

What would be your list of beliefs?

Do you need to work on aligning your beliefs and your life?

Leave a Reply

