No Labels   2 comments


Image provided by vanogfashion.com

Image provided by vanogfashion.com

Today I was looking at a Scripture passage that really caused my thoughts to venture into the “what if” category.

Here is the passage:

There is neither Jew nor Gentile, neither slave nor free, nor is there male and female, for you are all one in Christ Jesus. (Galatians 3:28, NIV)

While I realizing that this is how God views us, I know that this is not how we operate as humans.  We are all about labels.  We usually label people early in our encounters with them.  The label that is placed upon an individual impacts how we interact with them.  The labels often assign a sense of value.

So here is my “what if”…..  What if we lived with out labels?

I realize that some would argue that labels help create order in our society.  So there may be a sense of anarchy in my question.  I also realize that sometimes labels are assigned subconsciously.  There may even be some benefit to labels.  However, I see a lot damage caused by labels.  I see lives impacted in negative and long-lasting ways.  I see bullying committed by the use of labels.

So I am back to my question……  What would happen if we lived in a label free society?

I am eager to hear your responses.

2 responses to “No Labels

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Agree! Craig D and I are having an email discussion of yesterday’s post. More later.

    Sent from my iPad

    >

  2. Wouldn’t that be cool if we could actually do it? (She said while printing new Presbytery name tags).

Leave a Reply

