Lone Ranger   Leave a comment


Image provided by jennifersikora.com

Image provided by jennifersikora.com

Growing up, I used to watch reruns of a show called, “The Lone Ranger.”  Only as I have grown older have I realized that the title of the show was inaccurate.  The title implies that one man is out there riding to save the day.  The Lone Ranger was the “good guy” of the wild west.  He always seemed to be at the right place to find out about a problem which needed fixed.  He would fight the bad guys and always ensure justice.  He protected people and established safety from the bad guys.  However, unlike the title my suggest, he never did it alone.  The person that received second building but was an equal, and maybe even at times a greater, partner was Tonto.  Tonto was the Lone Ranger’s trusted companion who walked into danger with him and was instrumental in apprehending the bad guys.

I think of this show today because of thoughts regarding how sometimes we approach challenges in life.  I know that many times we have the belief that we have to overcome challenges alone.  We take on the mentality that we have to “fix” the problem because it is our problem and no one else is going to be able to resolve it.  As a leader, I have fallen into this trap more times than I would like to admit.  However, this perspective comes more out of ego than it does any reality.

Over the years, I have worked to modify my leadership style to be more collaborative and less “Lone Ranger.”  I strive to build strong teams that will work alongside and challenge my perspectives and potential solutions.  When I have developed this collaborative approach, I find that wonderful things happen.  Solutions that I never though of emerge.  Usually the newly emerged solutions are far superior to the ones that I fashioned in my own mind.  I have found that having Tontos in my life make the challenges less burdensome.

The challenge that remains for me is in my personal life.  I have been less successful in abandoning the Lone Ranger approach in this aspect.  So over the last year, I have used this as a growing point in my life.  I have included more individuals in my life who can give me insights and perspectives which I cannot obtain on my own.  I have been discovering Tontos who can walk alongside me, challenge me, and offer wisdom from their experiences and perspectives.  This is still definitely a work in progress.

So my question to you is:  Are you being a Lone Ranger?  If so, take off your mask, find a Tonto, and learn to share the load.  Afterall, even the original Lone Ranger really was not “Lone.”

Leave a Reply

