Watching Out   2 comments


Image provided by atchub.net

Image provided by atchub.net

Last night as I was preparing for bed, I looked out my kitchen window and noticed there was something unusual at my neighbor’s home.  I have lived across the street from an older lady who lives alone for over fourteen years.  In that period of time, you get to know a person’s normal habits.  What I saw last night was not normal.  It was rather late in the evening and it appeared that all lights were off in her home so I figured she was probably asleep.  I debated with myself about calling her but decided that I  would wait until morning and see if she arose and followed some of her normal habits.

This morning when I arose and went to my kitchen, I looked across the street.  Nothing seemed to have changed from the previous night.  I decided to take my normal walk with my dog since it was still early and if there appeared to be no activity, I would go over to make sure she was alright.

Upon my return from my walk, I noticed that she was definitely awake and following her normal behaviors.  Much to my relief, everything seemed alright.  Then as I was preparing to go to work, she happened to be in her garage so I went over to chat with her.  I told her of my concern and my intention to take action if nothing had changed.  She was so extremely grateful and thanked me for watching out for her.

This has led me to think about the importance to watch out for one another.  In a world where there seems to be more and more isolation, this need continues to grow.  We need to be observant and know those who live around us.  I am not advocating that we become intruders into the lives of others but instead have a genuine interest and care for one another.  Getting to know each other and our habits can make a difference when a need or crisis arises.

So today, I want to remind you to watch out for one another.  We all could use each other’s help and support!

2 responses to “Watching Out

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. This is the sort of thing I think of as “the community of Christ,” not just a bunch of people who worship together on Sundays and bring casseroles when asked.

  2. I just now read this post, and it seems to be particularly meaningful after Sunday. I’m here……….. 🙂

Leave a Reply

